What is Greek Classic Style? Captivating Elegance for Your Home.

Greek classic style is a timeless and elegant architectural style that has had a strong influence on Western architecture. There are three orders in which the classical architectural style of Greece can be classified. These orders include the Doric Order and Ionic Order, Ionic Order, and the Corinthian Order. Listed below are some defining features of these three orders that contribute to the Greek classic style:

  • Doric Order: The Doric Order was the first of the Classical Orders and was the most simple and functional. It features a plain, round capital and fluted shaft.
  • Ionic Order: The Ionic Order is characterized by its taller, more slender appearance and features a capital with a distinctive pair of volutes, or scrolls.
  • Corinthian Order: The Corinthian Order is the most decorative and ornate of the three classical orders, featuring a capital with intricate acanthus leaves, scrolls, and other decorative elements.

    The use of these orders in Greek architecture has influenced Western architecture in later times, and they can be seen in buildings across the world, including government buildings, museums, and private residences. Greek classic style is not just limited to the exterior of buildings, but also extends to interiors, artwork, and furniture design. The timeless elegance of Greek classic style continues to inspire and influence design and architecture today.

    The Roots of Greek Classic Style

    The ancient Greeks contributed to the development of Western civilization in many ways, including the field of architecture. The Greek classic style originated in ancient Greece during the 5th century BCE. Greeks believed in the aesthetic and structural perfection of the human form and used that as inspiration for their architecture. In addition, many Greek temples and buildings were also created to honor the gods and goddesses they believed in.

    Interesting Read  Revamp Your Space: Easy Ways to Add a Bohemian Touch to Your Room

    The Three Distinct Architectural Orders

    The Greek classic style can be classified into three distinct orders that include the Doric Order, Ionic Order, and Corinthian Order. Each order has its unique characteristics, which distinguish it from the other two.

    Doric Order: The Doric Order is the oldest of the three orders, and it is known for its forceful and simple design elements. Doric columns typically have no base and are shorter, thicker and more sturdy than the other two orders. The capital of the column is simple, with a circular plate called an abacus that supports the weight of the structure.

    Ionic Order: The Ionic Order became popular during the 5th century BCE, and it features slimmer columns that are taller and more delicately decorated than the Doric Order. The capital of the column is characterized by spiral scrolls also known as volutes, which gives the order its gracefulness.

    Corinthian Order: The Corinthian Order was the last to emerge during the period of ancient Greece, and it is known for its intricate and ornate design. Corinthian columns have a slender and graceful design, with a capital that is adorned with acanthus leaves, resembling flowers.

    The Beauty of Doric Order

    One of the most famous examples of the Doric Order is the Parthenon, a temple on the Athenian Acropolis dedicated to the goddess Athena. The temple was built during the 5th century BCE by architects Iktinos and Kallikrates. It features several Doric columns that give the temple a sense of strength and stability.

    The Gracefulness of Ionic Order

    The Erechtheion is an example of the Ionic Order, located on the Acropolis in Athens, Greece. Built between 421 and 407 BCE, it has six Ionic columns supporting its balcony and porch. The structure is admired for its gracefulness and balance.

    Interesting Read  What is Vintage Boho Decor? Stylish Bohemian Home Ideas

    Some of the other examples of the Ionic order include the Temple of Athena Nike and the Temple of Poseidon at Eretria. All these structures feature slim and tall columns, volutes, and decorative friezes.

    The Intricacy of Corinthian Order

    One of the famous examples of the Corinthian Order is the Temple of Olympian Zeus, located in Athens, Greece. The temple was completed in AD 131 and featured 104 Corinthian columns. The intricate design of the Corinthian Order is evident on the columns with the capital adorned with acanthus leaves.

    Some of the other examples of the Corinthian Order include the Arch of Hadrian, the Temple of Apollo Epicurius, and the Monument of Lysicrates in Athens. All these structures feature columns with ornate and intricate designs.

    Greek Classic Style in Modern Western Architecture

    Many modern Western buildings feature elements inspired by Greek classic style. Examples include the Lincoln Memorial in Washington D.C, the British Museum in London, and the New York Stock Exchange in New York City.

    In addition, many government buildings, museums, and other public structures around the world feature columns, pediments, and other design elements inspired by the Greek classic style of architecture.

    The Enduring Legacy of Greek Classic Style

    The Greek classic style remains an enduring legacy, with its influence felt in architecture even in modern times. Its beauty, gracefulness, and intricacy are unmatched, and it will continue to inspire architects and designers for generations to come. The legacy of the Greeks will never die out, and the world will always remember their accomplishments in every field, including architecture.

    Interesting Read  What are traditionalist colors? Discover the timeless hues for your home.
  • Total
    Previous Article

    Are people happier indoors or outdoors? Exploring the connection between habitat and happiness.

    Next Article

    What sets modern farmhouse apart from modern French country?

    Related Posts